End of Year Comic Pull List Reshuffling

So, 2007 is nearing an end, and I figured I’d poll anyone who visits this site on what they’ll be changing in their pull list. I find this time of the year is a good time to sort that stuff out, and while I’ll tweak my pull list throughout the year, this is the time of the year in which I make larger changes.

Daredevil: dropped

I feel like nothing has been happening too much, it’s all been more of the same false leads following up on them for nothing. Daredevil has never been one of the fastest paced comics out there, but not I feel that Murdock could sneeze and that’d be enough for the editors. The annual was amazing, I was a huge fan of that, but the lead up to issue #100 was so big, and in the end that flopped. It pains me to drop this title, especially considering that he is one of my favourite characters in the Marvel universe.

The Order: dropped

Yeah, not much has been happening in The Order either, well, no, that’s a lie. Things have been happening, and they’ve been reasonably interesting, but to be honest it just feels so disconnected from everything else Marvel. I like it when stories at intertwined, and figuring out how everything fits together, like a giant puzzle, and The Order just doesn’t have any relation to anything else. Also, I find the characters to be very stereotypical and shallow, and that makes it very hard to me to like them, or become invested in their interests and well being.

Heroes for Hire: dropped

I started reading this during World War Hulk, and decided I’d give it a chance to grow on me. It hasn’t, I’m not really sure why, I like the characters, the stories aren’t bad, I’m just not enjoying reading it.

Amazing Spider-man: dropped

There has been a lot of hype about this recently. While I DO have a major issue with what they have done to Spider-man, my reasons for dropping this title are slightly more shallow than that. I don’t want to pick it up three times a month, for a couple reasons. It’ll get too expensive, that’s an extra two issues a month I’ll have to pick up to keep on top of the story, and also, I don’t trust Marvel (or any publisher) to bring out GOOD issues almost weekly. I mentioned Daredevil’s attitude of “sneeze and the comic is over,” and they have a month to bring each one out.

Cable & Deadpool: dropped

Sadly, it’s ending. So I really don’t have a choice about this, but I will be picking up Cable, and if there’s any Deadpool titles coming up, you can bet I’ll be picking them up too.

Incredible Hulk: added

For better or worse, I really like Amadeus Cho. Probably because I like math, but hey, as long as he’s continuing to be in it, I’m going to keep reading it. I even like his character most of the time. Something about the boy that can stop a train with a pebble really intrigues me

Anything Conan: added

I read a single issue of Conan, and let me tell you, I loved it. Everything about it. I’m working on a review of it which will be posted in a day or two once I’ve had a chance to proof read it (I put a significant amount of effort into these reviews)

That’s it for me, how about you guys, what will you be picking up, and what issues are getting left on the shelves?  Not a WordPress subscriber? It’s cool, I allow unsubscribed comments.

5 Comments

Filed under Comics, General

5 responses to “End of Year Comic Pull List Reshuffling

  1. Daredevil’s been puzzling me for a while. It was one of my favourite titles for years after I got on board with the MK relaunch, and Bendis’ entire run had me glued to it. While Brubaker is astonishing me over in Captain America, he’s boring me to tears in Daredevil. I’m not quite ready to drop it, but if I’m being honest, it’s largely because I don’t want to break up my complete Vol. 2 run.

    I was buying Incredible Hulk, and while I’m not going to stay with the Hercules title, I’m not even certain I’ll get the new Hulk series. Loeb’s writing has really hit the skids over the last few years, and indeed, if Banner’s not the Hulk, as they’re hinting, then it’s not the Hulk as far as I’m concerned.

    Can’t think of anything I’m ready to pick up, at the moment. The Millar/Hitch F4 is a definite possibility, but I *might* wait for the hardcover…

  2. Tim H

    You’re right, no banner equals no hulk, if they DO take it in that direction, I’ll probably relegate it to the shelves as well.

  3. I dropped Amazing Spider-Man out of disgust for what they did, and I’m going to pick up Daredevil, I’ve only read issue 99 so far, but is seems pretty good (though you don’t seem to agree. 😉 ) I also recently started Mighty Avengers, the first arc was awesome.

    -LOTRKing

  4. I’ve heard that Might Avengers was pretty good, I’ve been thinking about picking up a trade when I get around to it. Good luck with DD, I hope you enjoy it more than I do.

  5. Pingback: Review: Daredevil #114 « Your Comic Relief

Leave a Reply

