Occupying Time Off

Mike over at Panels of Awesome, which btw have recently changed sites, so update your bookmarks, posted today on what to do while you’ve got downtime, be it from work or school.  I thought it was a very interesting topic, and to occupy my downtime, I figured I’d blog about it.  I left a comment saying that I tend to read old comics, but I do other stuff too; I read other’s blogs fanatically.  I figured I’d take some time and spotlight on some great blog posts of late by other bloggers.   Rokk’s Comic Revolution writes some great reviews that I often don’t really get to appreciate during the busy times of the year.  I’ve been reading them over the last few days and as someone who puts a lot of time and thought into writing reviews, I really appreciate what he’s doing there.  On the topic of reviews, Faust’s website, entitled Faust’s Fantastically Fantasmagoric Forum, writes on a wide variety of topics, including television and movies, but he also does a weekly comic review, focusing mainly on DC stuff.  I mainly read Marvel, Dark Horse, and BOOM! Studios comics, and I’d read more DC if it were financially feasible, so I enjoy the chance to read up on what’s happening in DC.

I would be mistaken to not mention Comics Daily, written by J. Hunt, a regular commenter on this site.  He recently wrote a post about the One More Day debacle, and wrote a very well worded opinion, which which I absolutely agree.  He writes very detailed blog posts, and always seems to be able to get to the heart of the issue.  Much of the comic book community is refusing to tangent from OMD, and to link you to all of the posts that have been created about it would be an act of futility.  One that does deserve mentioning is No More Days posted over at the Fortress of Solitude.  This post tackles the argument from a slightly different, and a little more cynical perspective.

Comics don’t always have to be taken seriously, a blog entitled Comics Make No Sense takes a look at comics that well, make no sense.  Taking them out of context, or even in general, and pointing out just how ridiculous they are.  I thought the one he did about some guy with a Q on his chest (I’m told it stands for Quiet Plea for Help), who appeared in Dial H for Hero.  Some blogs have been quite silent, such as Merc With A Mouth, who’s last entry was simply a list of links, which I am quickly realizing is what this is amounting to, I will probably do more indepth writing on each one in the coming future however.  As well as For the Love of Comics, who will be thankfully returning in the new year, because his is one of the ones I read most frequently.

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Occupying Time Off

  1. Heh… the Wednesday Links rundown is one of the more unorthodox ways to keep updating the blog. Deadpool doesn’t create as much news as one would hope. 🙂

    I promise, we’re more than just a list of links.

Leave a Reply

