Top 8 Most Cringeworthy Moments in Comic Book Movie History

I had a post I had planned to write up, but once again, I got side tracked, and put in awe/despair by this.  Published on Cracked.com, “America’s Only Humor and Video Site, Since 1959.”

Some of it is right on the money, such as how Batman and Robin was a godawful movie.  But I can live with that, I like batman, and I watch it as a comedy.  Some things I didn’t agree with were the ones in the beginning.  Such as the “I’m the Juggernaut, bitch” line in X-Men 3.  He shows the youtube video which this line was based off of, and frankly, as someone who found that video to be pretty funny (for the first few minutes, then it just dragged out), I thought the Juggernaut’s line in the movie was a hilarious nod to fans.  Despite that, he calls this single line the reason the third X-Men movie was terrible.  No.  Nono, I can think of loads of reasons that the movie was terrible, some nit-picky, such as spike being white, or Colossus not being American, to larger problems, some sub-par acting and the speed of Wolverine’s healing factor (which wasn’t such a big deal, until it rendered him invulnerable to Phoenix’s attempts to flay him).

Another statement that stood out in my mind was that dance scene in FF4:ROTSS, coming in at #5 on the list, the author brings up the point of “how come his suit can stretch too?”  Well, probably because he’s a freaking super genius and not only designed it that way, but he designed it that way because maybe some evil villain would attack, and he wouldn’t have time to change into his Fantastic uniform.  If I were to criticize this moment in movie history, I’d have rather brought up that Reed Richards is a socially awkward science kid, and he would have no clue how to dance at all.  I’ve seen science kids dance, I worked at science camp… it’s true.

In addition, when Superman turned back time made the list, which I guess I can understand, but really, that moment is kinda classic at this point, and given when the movie was made, it would be much easier for them to do that than whatever else modern writers/directors would come up with to get Lois out of that situation.  I think what I’m saying is that I don’t disagree with most of the list (the Juggernaut line and Superman turning back time aside) but more of how he attacked it.  By that same token, the car-explosion created skull in the Punisher movie doesn’t merit a #4 spot.  Also, there was no mention of “Spider-man and Hobgoblin team up to fight Venom and Sandman” two stupidly mismatched pairs.  I did find the reference to “Spider-man is a Jazz Loving Lesbian” because at least at that point in the list, somebody other than myself would be offended.  All in all, I found the list to by mildly entertaining, and a semi-worthwhile distraction for the last few minutes.  I would like to compliment the author however, on his thorough explanations, and that he posted all the scenes he was referencing via youtube.

3 Comments

Filed under General

3 responses to “Top 8 Most Cringeworthy Moments in Comic Book Movie History

  1. Where is Gambit in the X-men movies anyway?
    If they put him in, he would probably be played by Halle Berry too..

  2. Haha probably, or Nicholas Cage…. ugh

  3. How about Jessica Alba being chosen for Invisible Woman? I saw both movies, and every word she said made me cringe, and seriously took away the whole point of Invisible Woman’s name being changed from Invisible Girl.

Leave a Reply

